Bihar Polls: SWOT Analysis of Janata Parivaar Alliance


Janata Parivaar is trying to make a comeback in national politics with six of the breakaway factions namely Mulayam’s Samajwadi Party, Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United), Lalu’s Rashtriya Janata Dal, Deve Gowda’s Janata Dal (Secular), Chautala’s Indian National Lok Dal and late Chandrasekhar’s Samajwadi Janata Party forming a block to fight elections in the near future.

The first test of this block is the Bihar elections where friends turned foe turned friends again – Nitish & Lalu – have come together to stop the BJP juggernaut. Nitish after breaking away from BJP / NDA was routed in Lok Sabha elections in May 2014. Lalu’s party was reduced to just 22 MLAs in 2010 state polls and he has been barred from fighting elections for next five years after his conviction in fodder scam. Nitish needs Lalu for survival and Lalu needs Nitish for revival. Though its crystal clear that it…

View original post 3,032 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s