16th Lok Sabha Elections

The Indian general elections of 2014 were held to constitute the 16th Lok Sabha, electing members of parliament for all 543 parliamentary constituencies of India. A total of 8,251 candidates contested for the 543 Lok Sabha seats.

The Bharatiya Janata Party won a sweeping victory, taking 336 seats. The BJP itself won 31.0% of all votes and 282 (51.9%) of all seats, while NDA’s combined vote share was 38.5%. It is the first time since the 1984 Indian general elections that a party won enough seats to govern without the support of other parties. The United Progressive Alliance led by the Indian National Congress, won 58 seats, 44 (8.1%) of which were won by the Congress that won 19.3% of all votes. It was the Congress party’s worst defeat in a general election. BJP and its allies won the right to form the largest majority government since the 1984 general elections and Modi became the PM.

LL INDIA Result Status
Party Won
National Democratic Alliance 336
Bharatiya Janata Party 282
Telugu Desam 16
Shiromani Akali Dal 4
Shivsena 18
Apna Dal 2
Rashtriya Lok Samta Party 3
Swabhimani Paksha 1
Lok Jan Shakti Party 6
Naga Peoples Front 1
National Peoples Party 1
Pattali Makkal Katchi 1
All India N.R. Congress 1
Left Front 11
Communist Party of India 1
Communist Party of India (Marxist) 9
Revolutionary Socialist Party 1
United Progressive Alliance 59
Indian National Congress 44
Nationalist Congress Party 6
Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 2
Kerala Congress (M) 1
Rashtriya Janata Dal 4
Indian Union Muslim League 2
Others 137
Aam Aadmi Party 4
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 37
All India Trinamool Congress 34
All India United Democratic Front 3
Biju Janata Dal 20
Indian National Lok Dal 2
Jammu & Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party 3
Janata Dal (Secular) 2
Janata Dal (United) 2
Samajwadi Party 5
Sikkim Democratic Front 1
Telangana Rashtra Samithi 11
All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen 1
Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party 9
Independent 3
Total 543

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s